Ron Paul Grassroots Energy

Notes of Life
March 28, 2024, 03:31:07 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the forums!

Home Help Search Gallery Links Staff List Login Register  

Bush Poetry, Ballads and Yarns

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bush Poetry, Ballads and Yarns  (Read 652 times)
Merv Webster
Ambassador

View Profile
« on: April 11, 2008, 06:18:34 pm »

I was born in the Queensland border town of Goondiwindi and, as my dad was a  banker, his work took us to a number of towns throughout Queensland. I received my  education to Junior level and then tried my hand at various occupations such as a Lad Porter  on the Railway, then as a Clerk for the Commonwealth Bank, an Accountant, and the  Toowoomba City Council. My wife was a Roma girl, Christine Edwards, whom I married  in Toowoomba and we would have four children.

After marrying I worked as a Clerk, Shop Assistant, Slaughterman and an  Electrical Line Worker. These jobs took us to towns such as Toowomba, Roma, Cairns,  Gatton, Warialda and Goondiwindi. During my time in Roma I took an interest in stock  work and received an education on all aspects of the life, some of which I'd rather forget,  from a hardened old drover. Chris' dad. In 1994 we moved to Bargara, where I began  writing a book on my family's history.

Impressed by the stories told to me, along with the experiences I had with Chris’ dad,  I began trying my hand at writing bush poetry. My first book of bush poetry was called 'Tales of  Uncle Jim', which was well received. In 1996 I met Neil McArthur, a fellow poet, who  encouraged me to try performing my poetry at the Bundy Mob's Bush Poets Muster. This  was the beginning of my career as a Performing Bush Poet.